Dissapointment…

pink climbing rose with dew on blue forged fence in summer gardencomes in all stages of life. Whether it’s being the new kid at school, someone not sharing their toys, losing a job, a relationship…whatever the case may be, there will be trials and tribulations throughout life. That’s just a simple fact and everybody experiences a let down more than once. It’s in how we deal with these setbacks that determine the person we become. We can be a victim, or we can be an overcomer of our circumstance.

Being the victim is easy. It’s much more difficult to walk away and tell yourself “lesson learned” and truly mean it. How often have we fallen back into the same old patterns that caused us such heartache and misery in the first place? I know for me personally it has been several times. I can’t explain the reason other than to say I’m a glutton for punishment. However, the older I get, the more I’ve learned that someone else’s actions don’t have to affect me. I can chose to stay in the vicious cycle, or I can chose to remove them. The latter is getting easier and easier.

That’s not to say I don’t think of them from time to time because I do. I’m not a heartless and uncaring person, in fact I’m much to the contrary. I care too much, if there is such a thing. But when we get rid of the “weeds” in our garden, things tend to flourish. We grow.

But I think there’s a reason (perhaps) that we experience certain turmoil in our lives. Maybe to bring us down off our high horse? Maybe to teach us tolerance? Maybe it’s to keep us grounded. I don’t have a definitive answer, but when I look back, I see that every situation held a blessing in disguise.

I struggle even as I write this because I still need to do some pruning and weeding. I need to get rid of the negativity that holds me back, and that includes friends that I no longer have the same interests with anymore. It’s hard and difficult, but I know when all is said and done I will flourish.

‘Head and chin up’, as a dear friend told me just recently. I don’t think she realized how much I needed to hear those words at that particular time. She is not a weed…she is a rose. Be a rose to someone today.

Leave a Reply

