Disagreements

 
draft

To agree or disagree…. that is the question.

I’ve seen several post on this, some of which were a daily prompt to help writers get motivated. The concept is great, as I’m sure at some point we all experience “writers block”. Anyhow, even though my post is late, this has really been on my mind for the past couple of days and I felt compelled this morning to get it out on paper.

There is so much hate in this world. Intolerance. Ignorance. Uneducated opinions. Misinformed people. A news media that is more concerned with ratings rather than telling the truth, no matter how unpopular that truth might be. It’s not like the days of old when reporting the news was fact-based and not solely what the majority wanted to hear.

Also we live in a day and age where everyone is offended. Everyone. You can hear and see it everywhere you look. On the news, in schools, in your own community; people are complaining about the unfairness of life. Well, life’s not fair; something I figured out rather quickly. Don’t even get me started on congress and how none of the overpaid suits can seem to get along. (both sides of the aisle, by the way) I’m not blaming any one person, race, sex, political view, religious beliefs, etc. We have all grown intolerant, or at the very least impatient with how things are going in our world. The real question is ‘what are you going to do about it?’

My struggle as of late has been to teach my children: my young, impressionable kids, that there is a better way. I don’t want them to be bitter. I don’t want them to hate. I don’t want them to be afraid. I don’t want them to back down from their own beliefs because someone may simply disagree with them. There’s a fine line between all of this, and you must tread carefully.

I would like for them to know that it’s okay to be proud of their heritage, but they are not above anyone, black, yellow or otherwise. I would tell them to be patient with those who are different because not all persons have had the same opportunities. I would tell them to love thy neighbor as themself. (This one is very important) I would remind them that it’s alright for people to like things they don’t like and vice versa. I would tell them to be compassionate, respecting all persons, even when our human nature tells us to feel otherwise. And lastly, I would tell them to never lose their faith; what they know to be true and what will sustain them no matter what the media exploits, what their friends say, or what a teacher may try to impress upon them.

We all know what they say about opinions, so I’ll spare you the expression. But if we would all follow these simple guidelines that even children can seem to comprehend and put into practice, oh how much better we’d be! Sure there would still be conflict. Yes, there would still be woes and war. But think about how much happier we would be? Think how much hope you can give someone by simply being nice…taking time to say hello to a stranger instead of rushing past.

Just food for thought. Be nicer to someone today. Hold the door open for someone. Let someone cut in front of you in traffic. Buy a friend lunch. Heck, by a stranger lunch! Step out of your comfort zone and really put forth the old heave-hoe of goodwill. You will be happier, more content and maybe, just maybe, you will inspire someone else to pass along the good fortune. Most importantly, listen. Don’t judge, don’t preach, don’t accuse, don’t blame, don’t point fingers. Just listen. If you still disagree? Fine. So be it. You don’t have to change, just as I tell my children. But you should be respectful. Teach others by example, especially the little ones. They learn by sight and they’re always watching.
Go out and do good today & make a difference! Happy Wednesday!!

One thought on “Disagreements

  1. I really enjoyed reading your comments today. I agree wholeheartedly that we all need to be more tolerant of others. I often remind myself that everyone who knows me has to put up with a lot! Your children are blessed to have parents teach them. Some children are taught by example only, and unfortunately, there are a lot of bad examples set.

    Like

Leave a Reply

