Life….

wordpressentryEvery. Day.

We all struggle with something…. our job, our goals and ambitions. Relationships. Kids. You name it, almost nothing will ever go according to your ideal plans. It’s called life, and it can throw you a curve ball more often times than not.
Lately I have been in a slump. I haven’t worked on my new book in over a month, something I’m not happy about. One thing or another seems to be holding me back and preventing me from continuing what I’m very passionate about…. at least I used to be. Life, as I said, has thrown me a few of those curve balls here lately, and it’s knocked me off my perfectly planned schedule. It’s derailed the train that was my writing every day, finishing my second novel… all kinds of things I had planned and in the works that have had to go on the back burner. It’s been tough. I feel like I’ve let so many people down, including myself.
Then, just when I was at my lowest, life handed me a surprise. A good surprise for a change, and I couldn’t be more thankful. There seems to be a community, a mutual respect of sorts among writers. For the most part, we all support one another and want to see the other succeed. And I have been fortunate enough to connect with several of these generous people who have reached out, either to ask for help, or to offer advice of their own. It makes the process run a lot smoother, thus not leaving you so stressed that you want to rip your hair out. I’ve been there many times.
Not long ago, I had a fellow writer reach out to me for help. I remember it well. That particular day had been horrible for me in many ways, and I almost didn’t respond. But then I thought about how others had helped me and I wanted to do the same. I wanted this person to know that they weren’t alone in the big scary world of writing and publishing, because let’s face it, at times it can be down right cruel. Anyhow, this writer and I have connected, helping one another with everything from story lines and plots, to editing and everything in between. We have formed a friendship and a bond that I didn’t think was possible, especially considering we’ve never met in person. I cherish our friendship very much. Not only that, I am so grateful for this person and their keen ability to know that on that particular day, I needed a friend.
My point? When you think life is too much to handle: whatever is going on in your bubble, you still have the choice to let it defeat you, or move forward and change the things you can. I had a choice to sit and stew; to feel sorry for myself. Believe me when I say, I had every right to, as I’m sure everyone has at some point. This person reached out for help, and they ended up being the one to help me. You never know…. out of whatever trial and tribulation you’re facing, there just might be something on the other side that makes it better. That makes it bearable and okay, and then one day it won’t seem so bad. Keep moving forward and maybe you’ll even be a blessing to someone else!

3 thoughts on “Life….

  1. I enjoyed reading your post this morning, particularly to learn that you have developed a relationship with someone that reaches you. It’s so important to find that a “someone” who really connects with you. Your writing enthusiasm will return, when your life is ready to get off the roller coaster. It will happen.

    Like

  2. Please don’t be hard on yourself. You have so much to deal with in your life, and you need not be concerned if you hit bumps in the writing road. It happens. The important thing is to do as you said–to realize that you have friends, other writers who are concerned about you, and to start again. I wish you the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What kind words, Charles. Thank you. Truly. I’m taking it a bit easier these days, doctors orders, but I hope to pick back up soon. I’m always my toughest critic. Lol. But I’m slowly learning one day at a time that slow and steady wins the race. Wonderful friends such as yourself make it easier. Thank you again. All the best to you as well. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

