Why is this so hard??

Some people may think that it’s easy to write, edit, and market your book. Like it’s a simple and easy thing to do. It’s not.
My love of reading eventually turned into a dream of writing. After three long, agonizing years of writing and edits, I finally released two books. Two books that even though they aren’t bestsellers, I’m extremely proud of. It took a lot of time; some exciting moments and some grueling moments, but I got there eventually.
It’s difficult when your book is released. You wait and wait, hoping that everyone will just jump in and purchase a copy, sending you soaring to the top. Any new writer, and sometimes even a seasoned writer will tell you that’s not the case. It flops, or at least doesn’t move as quickly as you would like. Anyone that knows me knows that I have very little patience, and it’s easy to become discouraged when something doesn’t happen the way you’d like. I suppose we’re all like that to a point. When no one (except maybe your editor) realizes or understands how much work actually goes into writing even one chapter; to make sure everything is as it should be, it’s tough. Getting into writing and especially self-publication isn’t for the weak. I learned that very quickly. It takes months and sometimes years to build your brand: to get your name and your work out there. And while I’m certainly not opposed to “work”, it gets frustrating. You’re trying to move mountains and feel like you’ve only moved a small rock. The good news is you aren’t alone. Many authors feel this way and it’s great to know that you will have support when you need it the most. My advice, not that I’m in any way qualified as I am a struggling author and self-publisher myself, is that you don’t give up hope. Putting yourself out there for people to criticize and judge is scary, but if you don’t take the leap no one will ever know who you are or how great your work really is. Secondly, join as many forums and groups as you can. Market your work through a book tour, or a blog. You don’t have to spend thousands of dollars. A lot of places offer free services, just make sure you do your homework! Lastly I would say to keep pushing forward, even when it seems you’re doing nothing but going backwards. People will get tired of seeing you post things repeatedly on Facebook, or Twitter, but social media is a great tool. Utilize it. Even I seem to have lost a few “friends” in the process, but that’s alright. Social media is a great way to connect with other authors who will hopefully support you and help get the word out. Keep your chin up, as I so often have to remind myself!

Leave a Reply

