Be Creative

IMG_1537I love writing. I love the freedom it gives, allowing me the creativity to produce a world where anything is possible. I strive to introduce characters that are believable and relatable because I understand that if they aren’t, the reader will more than likely put the book down and walk away. I also try extremely hard to set the scene, describing it in such a way that the reader can visualize it in their mind’s eye. If they can put themselves in that particular place they’ll never want to leave. All of these things are crucial for creating a novel worth reading. However, what I sometimes find myself struggling with is getting so lost in the do’s and don’ts that I lose what I love most about writing. The CREATIVITY. Nothing you ever write will be perfect, no matter how many times you go over it with a fine-toothed comb. Whether a novice or a pro, there will always be something in your story that you aren’t completely satisfied with or that people will critique in a negative way. We’re our own worst enemies, however, and I can attest to spending more time on edits than  actually writing the story. It’s complete and utter torture! When I began this journey three years ago I thought I would just sit down at my computer and type out a masterpiece. Months and months later that didn’t happen. As a matter of fact I trashed the whole thing. It was horrible, but it was a start and every day I learn a little more, realizing that it doesn’t have to be perfect. You will write and delete more times than you can count; you will add to and take away from the rough draft so many times that it’s no longer recognizable. And if you’re lucky you’ll have a fantastic editor like I do who keeps me from going insane! There’s absolutely nothing wrong with wanting your book to be the best it can possibly be. Nothing at all. You put a lot of blood, sweat and tears into writing that novel and you want a finished product that you can be proud of, and that readers will be drawn to. But the most important thing is to not get so wound up in being perfect that you lose your creativity and your love for the craft.

 

2 thoughts on “Be Creative

Leave a Reply

