Starting the Next Page…

 

BlakesHopeWebsiteUse

I would love to say that sitting behind my keyboard for hours on end produces mass pages filled with tantalizing story lines, but I’m truly at a loss. I have written and published two novels within the last two years (each over 500 pages) and as I’m writing the last in the series, “Blake’s Hope”, I realize it’s not going to be as easy as I thought.

I have thousands of ideas in my head which undoubtedly is part of the problem, but the main issue I’m having is writing with the conviction I feel this story needs. I’m always so cautious as to not offend anyone who may not be keen on certain words, or who may shy away from graphic exploitations, making them feel uncomfortable. My first two books had a bad word or two (or three, fifteen, or sixty-seven) in them, however nothing like the F-bombs that are flying in this one. ‘Golly gee whiz’ just doesn’t seem to get the point across when you’re an FBI agent being shot at by the leader of a drug cartel, who is also trying to sell your woman off to the highest bidder. So….. I’m working through that.

I’ve always said that when writing you need to be true to the story; to the characters and their lives as the plot warrants. Guess I need to put my big girl panties on and bite the bullet, consequences be damned! Hopefully the coming days will bring clarity and I’ll be churning out chapters faster than my fingers can type! I am really, really excited about this one and I just hope I can do it justice!

16 thoughts on “Starting the Next Page…

Leave a Reply

