Writing Tips

pink climbing rose with dew on blue forged fence in summer gardenI’m sharing this in hopes that it might spark a writing frenzy in you, wherein you produce a literary masterpiece, but I’m also writing it for myself. As a reminder. I’ve been sick and thus, I’ve broken my own rules. ‘Write everyday’ has always been at the tip-top of my list, but I haven’t been doing that. Maybe these guidelines will help us all! Happy writing!

  1. Write. It’s that simple and that hard. If you’re stuck on your current project, leave it and write something else. Anything else to keep those creative juices flowing.
  2. Listen to music. Anything that evokes emotion in you. A song that brings you back to an old memory. Lyrics that make you feel something. I promise it helps.
  3. Break the rules. Often. Breaking out of that cage will produce unbelievable results. It’s your work. Own it and do what pleases you.
  4. Allow yourself to make mistakes. Believe me, you will. Many, many mistakes, but that’s alright. Make all the mistakes you need to make in order to learn. And don’t just learn, put those lessons into practice the next time.
  5. Clean your workspace. Keep it clutter and distraction free.
  6. Get away from the computer. If a blank page and a blinking cursor is mocking you, try the old tried-and-true paper and pen. Works every time. Write. Anything.
  7. Be open to ideas, even when they aren’t necessarily what you envisioned. Sometimes the things we least expect can be the biggest blessings!
  8. Laugh and laugh often. At yourself, your story, whatever it is, just laugh. You’ll go mad if you don’t.
  9. Write honestly. Nothing else matters.
  10. Observe. People at the grocery store, the mall, your bank; wherever you are, notice the small things. Study their mannerisms, listen to conversations, watch how they interact. You’ll be surprised at the invaluable gems you can use.
  11. If it’s boring to you, chances are it will be boring to your reader. Have fun with it! People mainly read to escape so give them a fascinating place to escape to.
  12. Break from your comfort zone and try writing more than one style, or genre. What can it hurt?
  13. Write first and edit later. Write anything and everything, and don’t worry about the rest. It will come.
  14. Get out of your own way. Get out of your head. Don’t criticize every word, don’t critique every punctuation. Let go of your self-doubt and just write.
  15. Finish it. Whatever it is, even if it’s crap, finish it.

Happy Writing!

signatureforblog2

3 thoughts on “Writing Tips

  1. I’m in the process of #15. It really sucks. But I just want to say I’ve finished SOMETHING.

    I’m the one person who can’t listen to music while writing. It distracts me. I listen for the lyrics instead of writing, and it’s just a detriment in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard a lot of people say that about the music, but I’m just the opposite. I hear too much of everything else if I don’t pop those ear buds in! (Kids, TV, dogs barking, etc.) But do what works for you! I’m glad you’re on your way to finishing your project. It will give you a feeling of accomplishment and the boost to your moral will be amazing! Good luck! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

