Rules Schmules

ican.jpg

First of all, I’d just like to thank everyone again for your well wishes. While I’m not 100%, I’ve managed to make it from the bed to the couch, so I guess that’s something.

Now, on to my original thought…. roadblocks! I’m running into them everywhere and to say I’m frustrated is an understatement. I’m wondering if any of you are, or have been, in the same boat. Please tell me I’m not alone in this!

So last weekend I ran a promotion on Amazon.com, giving away my new release for free in exchange for reviews. I was blown away when almost 500 copies were downloaded. I’m nobody, after all. Anyhow, I ran this promotion because after reading many, many, many indie author forums, it was shown that authors who gave their books away for free generated more reviews, and thus a higher reach on Amazon. Now I know I’m fairly new to all this, but I’d like to believe that I’m not all that naïve. I’ve been around long enough to know most people are good and honorable, but some, unfortunately are only out for themselves. Still, I thought for sure this would help get my name out there more. I’ve been disappointed to learn otherwise. Then of course I start to question myself and wonder if people hated it….maybe they’re just being nice by not leaving me a negative review? I do have three reviews, all five stars, so hopefully that’s not the case.

Anyhow, yesterday I posted to an Author group that I’m a member of. Other authors had posted their books and links, along with a message asking for reviews. I thought, what could it hurt? I’ll throw mine out there, too. Imagine my surprise this morning when I received a public message, blatantly flexing their superiority nonetheless, by another group member, who chastised me and removed me from the group. I’m not too proud to admit that I was a bit ticked off. I realize there are rules and laws for reasons. Some good and some not so good, but I pride myself on playing by those rules, even when I may not necessarily agree with them. It’s just the way I was brought up. However, I’ve found it to be almost impossible to promote, help, encourage, or find support when it comes to any of these groups. Even on Goodreads and Twitter, I’m running into the same problem.

So my question is this: 1.) Has anyone else experienced this? 2.) Can anyone suggest an author support group that is willing and encourages book trading for reviews?

I feel like I keep hitting a brick wall every time I turn around, but I’m not a quitter so I’ll continue to push forward. If any of you have a book you’d like reviewed, or input on a chapter, etc., I’d be more than happy to take a look. (and I’m not asking for you to do that in return) I’ve just come to realize that authors really need support in any way they can get it! signatureforblog

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Rules Schmules

  1. I have not tried any author groups at this point, but I have tried to establish contact with individual writers. I am not saying author groups are not useful, but I suspect that developing relationships and friendships with other authors would be better. At least, that is my working assumption. I would rather ask people I have come to know to read and comment and possibly review my work than give it to strangers. Again, I am not sure if this is better or not, just some thoughts for consideration.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think what is very possible (and I could be completely wrong) is that a lot of the people who downloaded your book when it was free probably download free books a lot. Their Kindles are probably loaded up with books and maybe they just haven’t quite gotten around to yours yet. I try to keep my to-read books on my Kindle manageable, but sometimes, I can’t help myself! Keep pushing. Twitter is great as long as you’re not spamming people with your book info. And I agree with the comment above about venturing out into other blogs on WordPress. Ya never know who might be looking for a book swap. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

