Author Phil Price- Interview

img_1873 Last week I featured author Phil Price on my blog. His novel, ‘Unknown’, was released in the fall of 2015 and has done quite well, receiving 5 star reviews. You can find more information about his book and his social media links here: Phil Price- Unknown. Due to the excitement, I failed to include his author interview which is what this post is all about. First, I’d just like to say that I firmly believe in authors helping authors, (or people  helping people in general) and I’m so happy to have connected with Phil, his gift of storytelling, and his charming personality. I started reading his novel today and while horror/paranormal isn’t my usual genre, I’m really enjoying the story and his style of writing. I will post a final review once I’m done, but I can honestly say that I’m impressed. I’d been wanting to broaden my horizons for a while, exploring other categories of fiction, and I’m so glad that ‘Unknown’ is leading that charge. Tomorrow will start my “Friday Featured Authors” that will run every week through the end of the year. I hope to bring you tremendous talent and authors that you can connect with. Enjoy!


1. How long have you known you wanted to be a writer? Growing up we always had books in the house. My older brother, who was a few years older than me, had various horror books lying around the place. I started reading avidly during a trip to Africa and Asia. Sitting in a dusty bus garage in Zimbabwe, waiting for hours was the perfect kick start to my love of books. I flirted with a few short stories in 2009. Just crap basically, but it made me enjoy the process of sitting down and letting my thoughts spew out across the page. I got married in 2010, just after I started ‘Unknown’. Lying on a sun lounger in Mauritius helped me start to plot the story and characters. I even used names of friends we met there and put them into the book. Thanks Mario.

2. What novels/works have you released and what are you working on now? I released ‘Unknown’, late in 2015. I’m working on the sequel, which I hope to finish this year. I also have a sci-fi book, currently on ice, and another story in my head which I will get around to when family life calms down a bit.

3. Do you have any tips for authors who are just starting out? Take your story everywhere with you. The supermarket, the pub, work and of course, to bed. I use people I know and mold them into fictional characters in my stories. It helps me visualize them instead of making up new people as the plot unfolds. It is also fun, especially if you’re not that keen on a character that you create. You can think up imaginative ways to dispose of them.

4. Is there anyone who has influenced your writing? The three main authors to influence my writing style would be King, Cussler, and Wilbur Smith. King, obviously for his take on horror. How he creates horror in everyday situations. I love how Cussler dives back into the past, tempting us with a far off mystery, letting it then unfold as the story progresses. Wilbur Smith describes Africa perfectly, spinning vast stories interwoven with factual events.

5. Any favorite authors or quotes? Aside from the three listed above, I love the books of Lee Child, Tom Clancy and Chris Stewart. I have to throw Tolkien in there, too. The Lord of the Rings has deep connections with where parts of my book are set.

Favorite Quotes:

  • If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything.
  • If you take the man off the edge, you take the edge off the man.
  • Opinions are like assholes. Everybody’s got one.

6. Tell us a little about yourself. I’m just a regular guy. I have a lovely wife and two great kids. Life is fairly normal. I have a regular job and a regular routine, so escaping into my stories is a nice contrast. I’ve traveled to many parts of the world, using the far off places as locations in my book. Not all the places in the book have been visited, however. That would defy the laws of physics!

I love a laugh. Love a beer. Love a book. Love a story.

-Phil

41KlKpvXO9L._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

