Friday’s Feature- Author Dustin John

***I do not endorse, nor am I affiliated with any of the following authors. Their works are their own and my opinions have no basis on the author featured. The purpose is to connect writers and readers who may have similar interests. Please be respectful of all authors featured and as always, please feel free to share.***

14435443

 

Happy Friday, everyone. I’m so excited to share with you today Author Dustin John. Why, you ask? Because I think he’s one brave soul to write his book, ”A Walk in His Shoes’, a story of heroin addiction. I lost a very dear friend to a heroin overdose two years ago this fall and while I’ve not read Dustin’s testimony, I know what addiction can do to a person. If this interests you as well, please have an in depth look. Links are below if you’d like to purchase a copy, or follow along Dustin’s journey. Have a wonderful weekend!


 

Biography

Dustin John was born and raised in Gallup New Mexico. At age 11, he moved to a small town in Southern Utah. Leading a seemingly normal lifestyle after graduating high school, Dustin’s life took a turn for the worse. A short time after a divorce lead him to bankruptcy, his life began the slow dive into addiction.
By age 22, he was jobless, homeless, running from the law, and searching for his next shot of heroin. Travelling across the western states in search of a safe haven, Dustin landed himself directly in the midst of a massive underground drug ring.
After a decade of playing on death’s doorstep, Dustin made a miraculous escape into sobriety. Dustin and his father, Dallas, documented Dustin’s drug riddled history in a uniquely written, father/son memoir titled “A Walk in his Shoes“.
Dustin’s father, Dallas, passed away from an aggressive illness just months before the book’s final manuscript was published.
Dustin has been sober since February 1, 2012 and continues to help in the fight against addiction. He resides in Southern Utah with his wife and their many reptiles.


Book Synopsis: This addiction memoir is a uniquely written powerhouse! The first and only book of its kind to be told by both father and son – in consecutive chapters – in one masterful publication. Dustin’s slow decent into the underground world of drugs goes unnoticed by his family until it was too late. This book lays out all the mistakes made by the family members and how to avoid the same disastrous mistakes. As Dustin plummets into the bowels of malfeasance, he is haunted by a young boy in a mask. He tries escaping his demons by traveling across the western states but instead of finding freedom, his addiction cascades into corruption, deceit, and evil abduction. His only way out is to do the unthinkable.


Author Links:IMG_2004

Buy ‘A Walk in His Shoes’

Follow Dustin’s Amazon Author Page

Facebook

Dustin’s website


Author Interview:

1.) How long have you known you wanted to be a writer? I have known my story needed to be told when I started to understand the complexity of addiction and the human mind. After over a decade of failed sobriety attempts and a complete destruction of my life, I finally understood how to stay sober. The millions of addicted people in the world- and their family members, could learn from me and my family’s mistakes. The book took almost 7 years to complete.

2.) What novels/works have you released and what are you working on now? I released ‘A Walk in His Shoes’  in December 2015 which is a memoir of my heroin addiction. I also collaborated on a book called ‘Hearts and Scars’ where I wrote a brief excerpt. I am currently working on my first fiction novel. After years of reliving my own fact-based nightmares in my memoir, I am ready to play around with my imagination.

3.) Do you have any tips for other authors who are just starting out? If I could give any tips to other potential authors it would be to read as many books as they can in their specific genre before they start writing. You pick up so many great writing habits by reading other authors.

4.) Is there anyone who has influenced your writing? There are too many influential writers to list, but to name a couple that have shaped my standards and ideas, I have to mention Ayn Rand. Being a native German who came to America speaking almost zero English, she goes on to write what is considered by many one of the best English novels of all time. That is a monumental task even if you speak the native language. If I moved to Germany and wrote a novel, it would more than likely contain pop-up pictures. Another writer I am inspired by is Dan Brown. After reading ‘Digital Fortress’ I knew that I would enjoy all that he writes. While I was incarcerated, I read James Frey’s controversial memoir, ‘A Million Little Pieces’.  At the time I didn’t know about the controversy surrounding the validity of his story, but it gave me the inspiration to tell mine.

5.) Any favorite authors or quotes? My favorite author would have to be Dan Brown. His blend of fact and fiction create highly compelling plots in my opinion. I also love how he builds in his twists.

6.) Tell us a little about yourself.  I am a 36-year-old who can say his ABC’S faster backwards than forwards. I once jumped out of an airplane before I was instructed on what to do to survive the fall. I love reptiles so much that my wife and I breed exotic pythons in our free time. I am a portrait artist who loves to study philosophy. I did heroin for over a decade, but that is far too obvious at this point. I’ve also been kidnapped wherein my abductors used coercive terror to subdue me. My memoir explains my escape in full detail far better than I can do here. My father, who wrote every other chapter of ‘A Walk in His Shoes’ died of an aggressive illness before he had the chance to hold a published copy of the book. I promised him before he died that I would share it with the world.

‘A Walk in His Shoes’ is the first book of its kind to tell the addiction perspective/story of both the addict and the parent/family in a single book.


Reviews of ‘A Walk in His Shoes’

By Jake P on December 6, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

Dustin has an incredibly powerful story. This book paints a picture that will not only inspire those who struggle with addiction themselves, but it will help friends and family touched by the horrible disease (pretty much everyone in the world) understand the human struggle inside each addict’s life.

By HanFam4 on December 22, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

Gripping and intense from the very first page. I couldn’t put this book down and finished it in less than 24 hours. Opens up the door to the addict’s world and the victim’s (family members) world in parallel brilliance. I highly recommend this book. It’s in my opinion, a masterpiece.

28101187IMG_2003

 

Leave a Reply

