Excerpt: Blake’s  Hope Fall 2016

Hope~
Cold metal shackles dig into my flesh. My ankles are bound, as well as my wrists which are hanging over my head. With every movement, they dig further and further into my skin, leaving welts in their wake. Possibly even blood, though I can’t be certain. The cold cinder block is unforgiving. It’s wet and cold from the rain that has seeped in through the cracks. As I struggle to free my limbs, my naked flesh rakes against the  harsh surface, causing me to wince in pain. The blackness is all encompassing, but I don’t need my sight to know I’m in hell. This damn, musty dungeon is only the beginning of my punishment. The putrid stench of death invades my senses and I know, without a shadow of a doubt, that I’m not the first person that’s been here. And I surely won’t be the last.

Raul had sent Jax after me. For revenge. For Blake. For Johnny. For being put in his place. Raul didn’t take well to being second-best. He sure as hell didn’t like to be embarrassed and that’s exactly what he was. Blake and Johnny had shown him up. They’d exposed his cowardliness, and I was about to pay the price.

I let my thoughts drift to Blake. It’s all I can do. He’s the only hope I have. Part of me wants him to come. I want to be rescued. The other part of me hopes he stays away. Even if it means my end, and it surely does. But I love him more. There’s nothing I wouldn’t do for him, and that includes dying. I finally give in, letting my head fall forward. Giving into the pain; the blackness. And the end.

  
Kelly Miles ©

7 thoughts on “Excerpt: Blake’s  Hope Fall 2016

Leave a Reply

