Review- Amaranthine by Lanie Jacobs

 

Where to start…. Wow. 

Ok, as stated previously, I am NOT a professional book reviewer. I’m just someone who loves to read. I’m also an author and firmly believe that reading makes us better writers. That being said, I’m going to attempt to give a review of Amaranthine by Lanie Jacobs.

Synopsis:  With Graduation only weeks away, Khalida’s normal,  everyday boring life is turned upside down. Never knowing her past, Khalida is thrown into a world of vampires, but not just any vampires; ones who will hunt to the ends of the earth to kill her. Luke, a boy she could never fully walk away from, is thrust into the chaos, forced to take on the world to save her. Though willing to do anything, can he help Khalida save her from herself?
Genre: YA, paranormal 

First things first. I’ve had this on my to read list for a while. After reading the reviews I decided to move it to the top of my list. At just 229 pages, it is a quick read though admittedly, I wasn’t ready for it to end.

The first novel for Lanie, Amaranthine is a book of teen love, betrayal, forgiveness, vampires, the paranormal world, and good versus evil. 

In the beginning I found myself rooting for Khalida. I sympathized with her awkwardness. The insecurities she felt as a teen, weeks away from graduation. And then enters Luke, the devilishly dark and handsome boy that steals her heart, though her pride won’t allow her to budge. I liked that it wasn’t the typical story of a good girl throwing herself at the bad boy. 

With time, however, and like all good love stories, the two of them found their groove, each needing the other desperately. One unable to live without the other. The protectiveness Luke felt for Khalida was unmistakable and well portrayed. Her stubbornness was at times frustrating (only because I’m a hopeless romantic!) but I understood the why’s of her character. Loving someone means protecting them at all costs, happiness in the moment be damned. 

Vega, Khalida’s best friend, was one of my favorites. We’re also introduced to many vampires within their coven, all as charming as the next. There are, of course, the evil vampires as well, all very vile and each as despicable as the next, making for an interesting clash of good versus evil. The fight scenes are very well written, action packed, and had me on the edge of my seat. 

This wasn’t the typical vampire book for me, which I like. And the world of paranormal is new for me as I tend to lean towards the romance/suspense side, but I am so glad I read this book. As a debut novel, I was blown away by Lanie’s uncanny ability to portray scenes and characters, transporting me into the pages. Very well done and highly recommended.

5 out of 5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

P.S. I also happen to know there is a sequel coming out, so Mrs. Jacobs… Get to writing! I need to know how this ends!!! 

If you’d like to purchase a copy of Amaranthine for yourself, and I highly suggest you do, here’s the link! Happy weekend, everyone!

Amazon- Amaranthine by Lanie Jacobs

Leave a Reply

